Taking a Break —-In the Chase


Whew!, ‘Ole Silver Streak is worn out and it is only Tuesday.  But it is not easy to chase God.  He doesn’t make it easy, purposely.  I knew that coming up to the starting line, but I am in the race for the long haul.  I will finish the race, maybe not in 1st place, but I will finish.  I needed a breather tonight, so will try to keep this short, but I never know when talking with my Father.  He always gives me so much and I want to share it all. 

Today, I took care of our 9 year old grand son.  That was a joy.  He played outside a while and then came in and played with his Leggo blocks until lunch time.  I asked him if he wanted to go to McDonald’s and it was a joyous yes, Grandpa.  We got in the car and the first thing out of his lips were, “Grandpa, if a person was pulled up into a tornado, where would they fall?”  That just about blew me away.  After I gave him an answer, he proceeded to tell me all about tornadoes.  Well, we did have lunch and then came back home as the skies were getting cloudy and sort of dark.  I was watching  a sci-fi movie on t.v. and he was in the other room.  All of a sudden he came running out and flew into my lap and held me tight.  He was shaking and scared.  Why?  Because it was thundering and lightening.  So I talked to him about it and explained that God was upstairs bowling and the thunder was the ball rolling down the alley and the lightening was the strike He got.  He asked me what the rain was and I told him that it was God’s tears.  He said why id is God crying.  I told him that God was crying because of the fact that not all His creatures were living the way He had set up.  But I said that normally after a rain storm and the son comes out, there is a rainbow.  He said what is that and I said that it is God’s promise to us that He is there and in control.  He was settled down by that time.  He turned around and threw his arms around my neck and gave me a kiss and said “thanks, Grandpa.”  That brought a tear to my eye and a prayer from my lips to our Father. 

That brings up a question for you. Do you know when to pray?  Jesus chose early morning hour for prayer  according to Mark 1:35  That is the time when our mind is the clearest.  Both my wife and I get up early to read His word and talk with Him. 

In the 6th Chapter of Luke verse 12, we see Jesus praying at night, all night.

Jesus payer before all the great crises in His earthly life.

He also prayed after His great achievements and important crises.

Jesus gave special time to prayer when life was unusually busy.

Jesus prayed before the great temptations of His life.

Many temptations come upon us unawares and unannounced, and all that we can do is to lift a cry to God for help then and there;  but many of  life’s temptations we can see approaching from the distance, and in such cases the victory should be won before the temptation really reaches us.  

I I Thessalonians 5:17 we read, “Pray without ceasing,” and in Ephesians 6:18, “Praying at all seasons.”

Brothers and Sisters, our whole life should be a life of prayer.  We should walk in constant communion with God.  There should be a constant upward looking of the soul to God.  We should walk so habitually in His presence that even when we awake in the night it would be the most natural thing in the world for us to speak to Him in thanksgiving or in petition.

Father, I praise you.  I love You more than anything.  I want more of  You.  I am chasing You, just like my kids did when they were growing up.  I would let them  catch me now and then.  Then I would chase after them just to get the “hug and kisses,” from them.  That is what I want from You, Father.  Father, thank you for your words of encouragement to me tonight, words that I have been able to put in a semblance of order for my brothers and sisters here on earth.  I pray that You will protect all of us tonight.  Surround us with your mighty army of angels. 

Father, be with our leaders, both local and state and national.  Be with our churches and pastors as they lead Your flock.  Father, be with those who are in the hospital or in therapy.  Be with those who are suffering the loss of loved ones.  Ones, Father that you have welcomed into Your house.  Father, be with Jenny, as she learns to really trust that You will always be beside her.  If it is your will, let her know that Grandpa is here to answer her questions, with Your help.  Now, Father, I ask that You bless these words as I write them each night, that they are sent out and not returned empty.  That they convict the soul of the unsaved and bring them back into the fold. Father, I will write Your words each night until You call me home.  Father, I do love You and Praise You.  I ask this in Your Son’s name, Amen! Amen!

Leave a comment