Man in the Mirror


Hello, everyone.  I hope and pray that everyone is  doing o.k.  I know that it has not been easy with this change in weather.  We have had to cover up our flowers and tomato plants each night.  It has been fun tho.

This is going to be a real short article tonight.  I have some other things to do before I head to bed.  I have been reading a book by Patrick Morley, called “Devotions for the Man in the Mirror.”  It has been quite and eye-opener.  If you haven’t read any of his books, I suggest that you pick them up.  There are four all told and I have them. 

In Chapter 2, he talks about Jesus: A Case of Mistaken Identity. In Matthew 16:13-16, Jesus asks his disciples, “Who do people say the Son of Man is?”  They replied, “Some say John the Baptist; others say Elijah; and still others, Jeremiah or one of the Prophets”

Then Jesus queried his disciples. “But what about you?” he asked. “Who do you say I am?”  “Simon Peter answered, ‘You are the Christ, the Son of the living God.”  The people had mistaken His identity.  Still do.  “But shat about you? Who do you say I am?”

Are you sure of His real identity?  Have you assumed too little — or too much — about who He is?  Don’t get caught in a case of mistaken identity.

Know Him as He really is, be humbled by the revelation of His true identity , and worship Him, Christ the King.

From Chapter 3, we are asked if we are a disciple of Christ , or still an infant?  Patrick tells tells us to learn why Paul “preached that they should repent and turn to God and prove their repentance by their deeds.”  What is it that Paul saw that today’s Christian has not yet seen?  Do you see it yet?

In Chapter 4, the last one I will touch on tonite, talks about Worship: Our Attitude Toward God.  Patrick talks about God from the Book of Rev 4 and 5  how we should take our cue from “other” created beings.  I will not go into the words as Patrick wrote them, instead I will suggest that you get down your Bible and dust it off.  Take it and go to a quiet place and open    the Bible to the Book of Revelations  Chap 4:8  then read Chap 5:12-13.  Then consider who God is—-His power, His wealth, His wisdom, His glory, His honor, His praise.  then as Hebrews 4:16 says,  “Let us approach the throne of grace with confidence” , but with the bearing and respect we would show to the One whose identity we have learned: the God who is, who created all things, in whom we have our being.

As you sit or kneel there in your “man cave”, to meet God, consider these statements as you begin your time in His presence.  Pause and meditate upon them: 

Father, I come to meet with You…..Meet with me.

Lord Jesus, I come to meet with You…Meet with me.

Holy Spirit, I come to meet with you….Meet with me.

Enter into the presence of the God who is with the respect and honor and praise He is due.  Do it as you would when you learn the identity of the dignified stranger.

Pray this: Father, my attitude has be capricious and overly casual.  I have not shown you the respect due Your name.  I abandon the specious ways in which I have    spoken to You.  I humble myself.  Hide me in a cleft in the rock so that I will not perish when your glory passes by me.  I surrender my unthinking attitude toward the privilege of entering the holiness of Your presence. Amen.

I think my brothers that that says it all.  I have nothing to add to what Patrick has been telling us.  Only that as I read his words and then went to the Word of God,  I realized that I had missed the meaning of those verses when I had read them some time ago.  But God impressed on me as I read them that I needed to adhere to them and that I was to pass this along to all my brothers, (known and unknown) so that they might do the same.  So my brothers, I ask you to allow God to speak to you as you read those verses.  Read them through (both the verses before and after the ones stated here) and as you finish the first reading, sit silently and allow God to point out a word to you.  Then do the same thing again and listen to what God says again.  Then the third time through, sit and wait for God to lay on your heart what He wants you to do with what you have learned. That is the way that we read His word.  It really opens up and gives you the meaning, better yet, it gives you what He wants you to know.  Listen, my brothers, as you are in your “man cave”, for the voice of Christ.  He will speak to you in some way. 

Well, brothers, that is all for tonight.  I am emotionally spent and exhausted.  So I will finish this post and drag my body off to the bedroom and a final talk with My Lord.  Tomorrow I will bring you 3 more chapters from Patrick’s book.  My prayer is that what I pass on to you will help you in your Walk and Talk with Christ.  If I can help you in any way, just drop me an e-mail.  I will answer it.  I will pray for you.

God Bless each of you and Good Night.

Silver Streak

2 Comments »

  1. […] Man in the Mirror (ptl4.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Jackie Paulson Said:

    What a great testimony to be able to pray at the end of your blog today, and share with the world.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

