God’s Paintings


Hey, Brothers and Sisters.  Ole Silver Streak walking along the road, talking to you.  What a day this has been.  I was busier than a “cat on a hot tin roof”. giving a ride to the cancer center at OSF for a dear friend, then paying property taxes and having a nice talk with the clerk.  Then talking with the son of our contractors.  Guess what we talked about?  Not about the roof or the bathroom basin, no sir’re bob.  We talked about God.  Stood in my front yard for probably an hour, trading experiences  with church and youth and seekers.  It was just what we both needed, ending with prayer.  We talked about the different wonders of God’s paintings as we have traveled about this country.  We each had a different take on the same thing.  What an awesome fellowship time, we had.  I look forward to having more times like this with a whole bunch of different people as I meet them.  I have even gotten into the practice of asking a question of the person before we split.  I will ask them if there is anything I can pray for, for them.  Sometimes, I get an answer.  At other times I get a stunned look, before they say “not really, thanks”.  Well it is a seed planted in their minds.  God will water it and someone else will do the harvesting.  But as I leave them, I shot a prayer to God and ask him to soften their hearts and help them come to terms about accepting His grace.  Remember, brothers and sisters, His phone is always available.  No busy signals, no computer answering voice.  Just Him, saying to you, “I’ve been waiting for your call, son/daughter”.   “What do you want to talk about”?  Isn’t that neat to think about?  Him asking what we want to talk about.  ” Well, God, I want to talk about that hockey game last night”.  And I know that the call will not be dropped, for lack of coverage, just because I am walking around down here. 

I do have a few other things that God has laid on my heart, through His word.  A love worth sharing….Abiding in the Amazing love of God.  One of the best ways to increase your level of compassion os by growing in out zeal for God.  Love originates with God (Ps. 100:5, 1John 4:7-12, 16).

The Holy Spirit empowers us to love others. (1 John 4:13).

Believers in God Follow His example. (1 John 4:14-21).

Listening to God is essential to walking with God.

Do you get the meaning of that last statement?  Have you heard Him speak to you?  If we do not learn how to listen to the Lord, we can make unwise and very costly mistakes.  Hebrews 1:1-2 assures us that God still speaks today.  He always communicates for our benefit —He desires that we listen and respond obediently so we can live with greater joy and strength.  For this to happen, you must learn a critical concept: When the Lord speaks, He is speaking to you.  

Everuthing in the Bible applies to your life in some way. Each of us must take God’s word personally.  Can you recall last Sunday’s sermon or what you read in Scripture yesterday?  If you listen for what the Lord has to say to you — and seriously believe He intends for  you to act upon what you hear — then you will be able to remember.  So as you open the Bible and when you enter church, pray for the Holy Spirit to help you really hear the Father’s specific message for your life.  He told us that His sheep know the sound of His voice. 

Listening to God is not some casual activity; it’s the most important thing you can do, for your well-being now and also throughout eternity.  So please stop and be still and listen for Him to speak to you.

These are the 5 marks of Spiritual growth.  (2 Peter 3:14-18)

1. A growing hunger to know God.

2. A desire to know the truth of the world.

3. An increasing awareness of our sinfulness.

4. A quick repentant response to sin.

5. A growing reliance on the Holy Spirit.

When God doesn’t give you what you want.  Read the Book of Ruth.  See and live Naomi’s bittersweet journey toward hope. 

Abba, Father,  I kneel here in repentance tonight, with outstreched arms, asking for your forgiveness for my sins.  I know that you don’t keep them and just throw them as far as the east is from the west.  Father, I thank you that I may come to your throne and ask for forgiveness and like my earthly father you forgive.  I know that I was not the son you created me to be, in the last few days, but now I am clean, because of the blood of your Son Jesus.  Praise God, I have been washed in the blood.    

Father, I now ask that you be with Ron and Leta and John as they take that walk of dread, but, having faith in Your healing power.  Just , if it is Your will, heal Ron of the cancerous cells and return him to his family clean and healthy.  Also be with Ryan and Janis and the children and also with Rob and Michelle.  Make yourself know to them and bring them back into your family.  Lastly,Father, please be with Sherry as she worries about her mother, the dear child of yours as she continues to have problems.  Make her yoke light Father and way easy.  Be with me as I write two talks I am to give Father over the next 3 months.  May the words I write and speak be yours Father.  May the teens and adults on the two walks see You in my talk and actions.  This I pray Father in your Son’s name,  Amen! Amen!

Well, Brothers and sisters, Ole Silver Streak is going to getup off his knees and start walking towards that distant mountain, to sit down with my Father and learn more, so that I can give it to you.  Take care and God Bless

2 Comments »

  1. […] God’s Paintings (ptl4.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] God’s Paintings (ptl4.wordpress.com) […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

