Hey, Silver Streak, here with ya!.  My, O, my what a rousing time was had by all last night.  I know that I enjoyed it, the service was great, music good and the fellowship was out of this world.  Boy, O Boy, all that food.  If anyone went away hungry, shame on them.  I know that I got filled.  It was good to renew old friendships again.  I missed several people tho.  I do wish that more of the church people would have come to the service like they have been doing right along.  But I have heard that they thought it was only for that “Emmaus click” and not for regular folks.  I do believe that they weren’t told often enough over the preceding weeks that the whole church was invited.  I will say that they missed one GREAT message, giving by our bouncing pastor Monty. 

I have a question for y’all.  Did you get the main message?  The message that Emmaus is community?  I mean real community, not some fake group, but real people who care about and love the community.  I thought that Pastor Fox got that part of the message across just right. 

Did you like the way he acted out the “roller coaster”?  Did you understand and get the same feeling he did?  Did you also understand the same thing about the Emmaus weekend?  No two people will have the same feeling from the weekend, just as no car load of people will get the same feeling from a “roller coaster” ride.  My feeling was different from Pastor Fox’s and different from my wife’s.  Yours will be or was different from mine.  So the new person you are talking to, will have to understand this when you don’t tell him/her what kind of feelings they will get.  Theirs will be different.  Everyone in the Community has had a different weekend.  That is the way God means for it to be,  He does not give everybody the same feeling,  He makes each one Special.  I pray that each of you had your own “mountaintop experience” .   Just getting to the mountaintop and to be able to sit next to Jesus and learn is the first step, now you have to continue the walk.  Stay next to Jesus and you will have a fuller life.  Don’t worry about material things.  Don’t try to “keep up with the Joneses.”  Don’t step on people to get ahead.  Extend a hand (of love) to your brother or sister.  Always edify!  Always praise.  Never tear down a brother/sister, because you never know when the brother/sister you to that to, was an angel.

Brothers/sisters, ole’ Silver Streak is getting close to his destination and needs to pull over.  It is time to get down on my knees and talk to my Father.  I pray that you will do the same.  Until next time, I will leave you with this:  Jesus says in John 15:5 “I am the vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.” 

Brothers/Sisters, remember that last part “apart from me you can do nothing.”

DeColores


Leave a Reply

