My Testimony


Well, it has been a long time since I fell to my knees and accepted Christ as my Savior. I will try to fit it in this blog. I pray that God will use my words to help whoever reads this to come to the cross and accept Him.

I was at a retreat center (Bishop Lane) for a weekend called “Discover God’s Call”. It was Saturday May 3, 1991. It had rained on Friday night, but today was partly sunny and warm. We had just finished a breakout lesson and I was sitting at the picnic table. I had finished reading the Scripture that we had been studying, when I heard someone say “come to the cross”. I looked around and saw that no one was any where near where I was sitting. So I let it go and went back to looking at what I had written in answer to the ?’s about the scripture. Again the voice called out “come to the cross”, and again no one near me. So I said God if this is you, I need you to show me. As I finished saying that, my bible flipped open, to the story of the young rich man. Needless to say I left my things at started walking. If you have ever been at the Bishop Lane retreat, you know they have a path, called “the 12 stations” At the top of the hill is 3 crosses. As I neared the crosses, God stopped me and told me to get on my knees and crawl. I did right up to the center cross. I leaned my back against it and sat there singing and crying. I leaned my head back and looked upward and God allowed me to catch a glimpse of Him. As I walked back, the director of the weekend met me and said that I had a glow about me. He told me that he had seen something transpire and thought he knew. He asked if I would share it with the group that afternoon. I said I would try. Later, after I had washed up, as I was all muddy from crawling, I walked down to the main meeting room and the young lady that was teaching the class saw me and gave me a hug and said that I was glowing. I was asked to stand and tell the group what happened. There were around 80 men and women there. I told them what had transpired and then said that I was to sing a song. Through my tears I told them that I might not be able to finish the song and begged their forgiveness. I think I got the first sentence out before I fell to my knees in tears again. But I heard the group finish the song. God had told me to sing “Something Beautiful”. Well fellow Christians, that song is exactly what He did to me. I was told that I was to share this with everyone I meet where ever I met them. God is so good all the time. All the time God is so good.
May He bless you and lead you to your knees in submission to His way. God Bless You Brothers and Sisters.

Leave a Reply

